Pancake Week- Coconut Banana

Continuing with our pancake week, I thought for day two I would share with you the variation that began my recipe experimentation in Cyprus 6 years ago. I absolutely love coconut. I  don’t remember where or when I first tried fresh coconut but I remember instantly loving it. Any dish containing coconut almost always become a favourite.

On our honeymoon in Gatlinburg,Tennessee, we ate at the Pancake Pantry and as soon as I saw coconut banana pancakes, I set the menu aside and knew beyond a doubt what my choice would be when our server approached! They were as incredible and if you are ever staying in the Smokies, I strongly recommend a breakfast stop at the pantry.

I had not really ever made American style pancakes until we got married in 2006 and as I mentioned yesterday, it was only because we got our hands on some Bisquick in Cyprus that I remembered our delicious breakfast in TN (and my general love of pancakes) and decided to begin a new tradition in our home. After the first couple of times making plain ones to secure my pancake making skills, I threw in some banana and coconut and was delighted to be able to relive such a wonderful memory from our honeymoon. Now these, are a much loved staple in our pancake rotation. 

Coconut and Banana Pancakes

Add 1 diced ripe Banana and 1 cup of shredded coconut to any batter mix of your choice. I like the texture provided by the coconut but have used 1 tsp of Coconut extract at times when I don’t have the shredded kind.

These pancakes take you to tropical paradise.

2 thoughts on “Pancake Week- Coconut Banana

Leave a Reply

