Coconut Nutella Banoffee Pie

Coconut Nutella Banoffee Pie

Nutella is a frequent guest here on the Grumbling Belly and last year I combined it with another favourite, Banoffee Pie. I didn’t think it could get any better until I had a moment of inspiration a few weeks ago to add coconut and have been waiting for the opportunity to try it ever since!

One thing that makes being away from ‘home’ more enjoyable, is the wonderful community of friends we have here in Waco. From the minute we arrived, the other families in John’s PhD program completely took us under their wing and I am daily blessed by their kindness and friendships. Not many people can say that when they moved to a completely unknown part of the country, they had instant community. But, we do and I never take it for granted. One of the families recently had a great opportunity open up and they announced they were going to be leaving. This past weekend we had a lovely going away party for them which is when I decided to premiere my new twist on Nutella Banoffee Pie.

At first my biggest problem was figuring out how to best incorporate coconut without unsettling the already perfect balance of flavours. I have the hubs to thank for this one because it was his question that helped launch the genius that followed. What about a layer of coconut filling? Seeing as I have never made a coconut pie before, I thought it best to consult some southern experts and found the (near) perfect recipe thank to the Food Network and the Neelys.

Banoffee Pie is very sweet and it’s important that any additions only enhance flavour and not add more sweetness. Using my experience with banoffee pie and my small adaptations from the Neelys’ recipe, I made a couple of mini pies to get the layers and textures perfect.  I knew this pie and I would be good friends but I did not anticipate the love blossoming in my soul! In one bite you are hit with individual waves of banana, toffee, Nutella and then finally coconut. Bliss!

Coconut Nutella Banoffee 

(this makes 2 regular sized pies)

Follow Neely’s recipe  for the coconut filling (using only 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp of coconut extract instead of vanilla). Allow to cool.

See Nutella Banoffee Pie from April 8th 2012 for directions on making the toffee. You need about 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk, a large jar of Nutella (or 2 regular) and about 3-4 medium sized bananas.

Assembling the Pie:

Line the bottom of your favourite simple graham cracker pie shell with thinly sliced bananas.

Spoon over a layer of toffee followed by a layer of nutella (I recommend heating the nutella in a microwave safe bowl for about 1-2 minutes on 50% power so that it pours easily)

Next, pour 1/2 the coconut pie filling and gently spread across with a metal spoon trying not to ‘dig’ into the fillings underneath.

Place another layer of sliced bananas and end with a second layer of toffee. Put in fridge overnight.

Whip up some heavy cream with 1/8 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. Pipe little flowers onto the pie and drizzle over some toffee and Nutella. Finish with some toasted coconut flakes.

Coconut Nutella Banoffee Pie

This pie only gets better with time. If you can discipline yourself to wait an extra day, you will not regret it!

2 thoughts on “Coconut Nutella Banoffee Pie

Leave a Reply

