Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

I sometimes joke about how I was born in the wrong part of the world because, with my hatred of lamb and olives, I am such a failure as a ‘Greek’ eater ! Of course I could not possibly pick between all the other cuisines I enjoy but if I had to pick one category of flavours it would probably revolve around tropical fruits like pineapple, melons, coconut and mango. Growing up in dreary London, I always longed for a real summer so these fruits were the closest I could feel to the sunshine and the beach on those disappointing July and August days! I used to joke about how I was solar powered but maybe my Mediterranean heritage just meant I wasn’t designed for anything less than warm, sunny, island life…just one without so much lamb perhaps! Regardless of how this love affair with the tropics began, it’s almost guaranteed that I will hone in on dishes containing these ingredients when browsing a menu or recipe book.

The weather this week in TX has been very frustrating with it’s massive swings in temperature from the 80’s to the 50’s, and a plethora of nasty dark clouds so I think my Dreary London PTSD came out forcing me to dust off all my summer recipe favourites to cope! Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa just seemed the perfect way to invite the sun out from behind the clouds of my heart!   I threw this recipe together last year and it’s really simple, nothing surprising, no crazy twists, just delicious and fresh. Like this week’s Pinteresting Monday recipe, it stands proudly on it’s own two feet as a tasty healthy meal without hiding behind the name of a dish that it doesn’t match up to!

Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

2 large fillets of tilapia (or other delicate white fish)

1 large avocado, sliced

1 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp olive oil

4 wholewheat tortillas

Taco Seasoning for Fish: 

1/4 tsp Chili Powder

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp of Onion Powder

1/4 tsp of Corriander

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

pinch of cayenne and cumin

Mango Salsa:

1 Mango, diced

1/4 large onion, diced

1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro

1 tbsp lime juice

1/2 – 1 tsp salt (depending on your preference)

1 tbsp tomato (seeded and chopped finely)

Mix all salsa ingredients together and set aside (if you can let this sit for an hour or so even better).

Mango Salsa

Combine taco seasoning. Rub lime juice and olive oil over cleaned fish and sprinkle seasoning over both sides. Heat pan and grill fish on each side for about 3-4 minutes. Crumble fish with spatula in the pan and remove from heat.

Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

Squirt fish with a little more lime juice. Heat tortillas and form a line down the center with avocado slices. Sprinkle crumbled fish over top and finish with the mango salsa.

Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

We also like to put a few dashes of Tabasco or some Mango Habanero sauce when we’re feeling brave!

Fish Tacos with Avocado and Mango Salsa

Leave a Reply

