Copycat Starbucks Lemon Loaf

So you may have noticed that I missed Pinteresting Monday this week. Things were a little hectic over the weekend as I was making cupcakes for a baby shower so I didn’t get to have any other fun experiments in the kitchen. However, I am not leaving you hanging as one of my sweet new friends here in Waco, Carlee Payton, is sharing her review of a great recipe she recently tried. On her blog, The Payton Periodicals, Carlee not only writes about delicious food, and her fun adventures with husband Jared and hilarious little pup Wylee, but she offers helpful advice to her readers on all kinds of topics, and shares cute and easy craft projects. You should check her out!

Hi all! Thanks Leia for allowing me to do a guest blog post on The Grumbling Belly. The GB is one of my favorite blogs, especially because Leia reviews recipes found on Pinterest.; which is very appropriate because the recipe that I want to share with you is one I found on Pinterest. Because it’s not my original recipe, I can’t take credit for it but it really did turn out quite lovely. When I found the recipe several weeks ago, it pulled on my heart strings because at one time, I worked for Starbucks and this was one of my favorite treats. At the end of my night shifts there, I was allowed to take one pastry and one beverage…. 90% of the time, I took the Lemon Loaf. It always tasted so good with some sort of mocha-flavored drink; surprisingly enough. So this recipe brought back memories of my time as a barista.

Starbucks’ Iced Lemon Pound Cake Copycat Recipe 

(The original recipe can be found at Picky Palate)

starbucks copy cat lemon loaf

1 box yellow cake mix

4.3 ounce instant or cook and serve Lemon pudding mix

1/2 cup vegetable oil

4 large eggs

1/2 cup milk

8 oz sour cream

6 TBSP freshly squeezed lemon juice

Icing

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

3-4 TBSP freshly squeezed lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and spray 2 loaf pans or (1 Bundt pan, in my case) generously with cooking spray.

2. Place all cake ingredients in no particular order into stand or electric mixer, beating until well combined, about 1 1/2 minutes. Divide cake batter between two prepared loaf pans (or 1 bundt) spreading evenly. Bake for 45-55 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through. Remove and let cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan(s).

3. To prepare icing, place powdered sugar into a large bowl. Drizzle in lemon juice stirring until smooth and thick. Should be a good drizzling consistency. Drizzle icing over cakes and let set for 20 minutes for a firm icing. Otherwise slice while still wet if desired.

**Note: You can make this same recipe into cupcakes, small loaves and even a layered cake. Adjust baking time accordingly.

Review:

It turned out to be one of the most beautiful cakes I had ever made. It reminded me of a sunrise with the different shades of yellow. The taste is very similar to the Lemon Loaf at Starbucks. I haven’t had the Starbuck’s Lemon Loaf in a while so I would need to do a side-by-side blind taste test to compare. Overall, it is a delicious dessert and would be a nice dessert to serve company.

It is probably best eaten the same day because the next day, the icing seeps in and is less pretty but still very delicious the next day. I stored my cake in a cake dome on the counter; not the fridge. It probably wouldn’t hurt to put it in the fridge. At Starbucks, we served the Lemon Loaf in the refrigerated dessert case.

Check out my blog over at www.carleejoy.blogspot.com for recipes, fashion tips, crafts, traveling, fitness and more.

-Carlee Joy

Leave a Reply

